Review of the Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

I’ve been wanting one of these for a long time. For years I used a wooden table or a chain hoist to lift motorcycles up for repairs when I just could not bear to get down on the floor to work on them. As I’ve gotten older the combination of a weaker back and a fatter wallet has made this purchase a lot easier to justify. So when the September issue of my favorite motorcycle magazine arrived on my Kindle with a coupon to purchase this lift for $299 I bought a print copy ASAP & clipped the coupon.

Ironically enough it took me 2 weeks to purchase this from either of the 2 nearby Harbor Freight stores. Unfortunately this led to my first real negative experience with a company that I have enjoyed doing business with for years. Last Saturday I went to my closest store in Florence S.C. and they were out of stock, so I called the store in Dillon an hour drive from here and they were also out, but told me they were expecting a shipment on Thursday. Yesterday, I was in Florence and they were still out, so I called the Dillon store and gave them the item number and was informed they had some in stock. So I gassed up my van and rolled up the interstate to that store, imagine my shock when I handed the clerk my coupon and was told that they were out of stock. When I mentioned that I had just called and had been informed that they were in stock. Then she went back to the computer and “found” one for me. Probably just a human error but if you are using a coupon to buy one I would verify stock in your nearest store before driving very far to pick one up. Don’t mention the coupon until you get there.

The shipping guys helped me load it in my van with the forklift. This worked out for me okay but if I had to do it again I would have taken a trailer for easier loading and unloading. If you have a long bed pickup truck that’s the best thing to use.

lift in crate in my Astro van

lift in crate in my Astro van

Since the completed crate was far too large and heavy for my beautiful assistant and I to remove from the van I simply opened where it was and slid the contents out into the door of my barn.

motorcycle lift crate open

motorcycle lift crate open

I am not going to do a step by step walk through of the assembly because in all honesty the instructions that come with it are perfectly adequate to help you get it together. I will touch on a couple of things that I think you should know about. First I got all of the parts laid out and read the instructions from beginning to end.

Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table w/ parts & instructions

Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table w/ parts & instructions

Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table oil fill plug

Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table oil fill plug

One of the things that you are instructed to do is to check the level of oil in the lift cylinder. The fill plug is in the location shown in the picture below.

Be sure to use a decent grade of jack oil. If you do not have some at home go ahead and pick some up at Harbor Freight while you are there. The best way to fill a jack cylinder like this is with a squirt can. Mine turned out to need a pint of oil to fill it.

oil I used for my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

oil I used for my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

The instructions seem to want you to install all of the parts and accessories before you check the oil and raise the lift. I personally installed the wheels, then filled up the jack and raised the table all the way up to install the wheel vise, tie downs, & the ramp. You should do whatever seems safest to you.

Installing accessories on my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

Installing accessories on my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

Here it is altogether.

my fully assembled Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

my fully assembled Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

  After double checking the assembly of the table I lowered it back down and drove the Minimum Ninja up on it so that it could receive some long overdue TLC.

Look Y'all it's the Minimum Ninja!

Look Y’all it’s the Minimum Ninja!

Yesterday after strapping the bike down I raised the table to its maximum height and left the motorcycle sitting on it with the safety bar properly installed. When I went back this afternoon it was still all the way up. A lot of people criticize the design of the wheel vise but I think that it is okay. Unlike the larger vises I am certain that one can perform most fork and front wheel service without removing it. When I was a dealership mechanic most of the time the wheel vises from our heavy duty air lifts spent most of their time lying under the workbenches because they got in the way. Plus my bike still has a centerstand 🙂

Kawasaki Ninja 250 on my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

Kawasaki Ninja 250 on my Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

Don’t forget to recycle the crate! It actually has a couple of large pieces of usable plywood, I know that you can always find a use for a good piece of wood around the house or shop.

Recycle this crate you know you want to.

Recycle this crate you know you want to.

This will be a long term review. Over time I will publish new updates or simply update this post as I get some miles and years put on this thing.

As for the Minimum Ninja, it will receive its own pages here covering the updates and repairs as I make them.

Peace Y’all

20 responses to “Review of the Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table

  1. I’m considering buying one. I have heard mixed reviews and read complaints regarding the hydrolic pumps failing. If they go, there is no alternative replacement. You have to replace it with the same crappy pump that comes with it. …. Do you still own yours and have you have any issues?

    • I still have it and it’s used regularly with no problems yet. If you have a really large heavy touring bike I reccomend a heavier duty lift. Most of my bikes are mid sized, when working on a large heavy cruiser I always lower it whenever I finish or stop for the day. Find it on sale as cheap as possible and get the extended warranty.

  2. I read a lot of mixed reviews about Harbor Freight. This is a really thorough review (right down to offering tips like recycling the crate!). I am happy to hear this lift is working out for you. Wise to do the ‘let it sit on the lift’ test for awhile, to note whether there is any buckling or change in how the lift responds to the load over time. To respond to the poster above, it seems that in a shop setting it makes sense to go with a more professional lift table, suitable for a shop, as you can’t be too sure, especially with keeping someone else’s bike (and yourself) safe.

    • Thank you, for the compliments on the review. Discount tools are often a mixed bag when it comes to quality, but most of the time if they work out of the box they are usually ok. I do agree that professionals should buy professional quality tools. If you would be interested in me doing a review of any of your products, just let me know.

  3. We own a small auto repair shop, but recently we’ve been getting some minor service jobs for motorcycles. My husband wants to purchase a motorcycle lift for the shop, and was looking at the Harbor Freight lift. He is afraid it will not be stable and he might drop a customer’s bike. What do you think? Would it hold up for regular use in a shop?

    • Stability is fine as long as your floor is in good shape. The crew at Carolina Fun Machines (see my review of Tha Misfit) uses nothing but these lifts. The real issues are; some fully dressed touring bikes are heavier than this lift is rated for & it is too narrow to lift full size atvs. If you plan to be prepared to work on anything, I would go with a Handy or other professional quality lift. As for the quality, it is decent, mine has spent nearly every day since I purchased it in the air with one motorcycle or another parked on it. Some owners have reported problems & some people have never had any. In general if it works right when you take it out of the box it should be fine. The real issue for professional use is the weight & width limitations.

  4. Coupon still in Cycle World as of April 2013 issue. Thanks for review. What are concerns for toppling the whole shebang over? Should it/could it be bolted to the floor?

    • Just make sure that you adjust the leveling feet down to the floor so that the weight is not resting on the wheels & make sure you have a sturdy level floor to place it on. If you never anticipate moving it you could remove the wheels and bolt it down if you want to.

      • If I do this, it will be placed on a covered area of my driveway, which means it has a slight down and side pitch. I can probably shim it level, and drill holes for bolting it down, but it will have to be removable when done. The hardest part of this is to avoid being on the receiving end of spousal abuse.

  5. Pingback: Harbor Freight Motorcycle Lift Table Update | Life on 2 Wheels (& other stuff)